Lebel-sur-Quévillon

Nestled on the shores of beautiful Quévillon Lake, the town and lake are named after Louis-Amable Quévillon, master carpenter/architect and sculptor who decorated many churches in Quebec. The first part of the town’s name comes from Jean-Baptiste Lebel, from Clova, who, in 1948, opened the first sawmill in Rapide-des-Cèdres, 10 km from the current location of the town. In 1960, lumber company Domtar decided to build a sawmill on a portion of land that would eventually become Lebel-sur-Quévillon in 1965. Its bedrock’s high zinc, copper, silver and gold content allowed the town to diversify its economy, which had been mostly forest-based.

http://www.lebel-sur-quevillon.com